Swamy Ayyappa



Pathinettupadi (18 divine steps) to the sanctum sanctorium is divine in all aspects. The first three steps depict "Bhoomi, Agni, Vayoo & Akash", 6 to 9 steps for Karmendriya, 10 to 15 for Jhanandriya, 16th for mind 17th Intelligence and 18th Jeevathma Bhava. Those who cross all these steps are believed to achieve "Punyadarshan".

Step 1 Naga Yakshi

Nagayakshi is one of the paripara devatas of Sastha and she is stationed at many of his temples like Kulathupuzhai, Achan kovil etc.

Step 2 Mahisha Mardhini

Mahishamardhini is Durga Swaroopini an infacther advent took place before Swami's Manikanta incarnation and she annihilated Mahisha and Manikanta destroyed his Sister Mahishi

Step 3 Annapoorna

Sastha is Annadhana Prabhu and is very happy in the pious deed of feeding all his devotees – always. A Sastha devotee is never in want of food – throughout his life time.

Step 4 Kaali

Kali is the Goddess of time and change representing both the creative and destructive aspects of Nature. She helps those who strive for knowledge of self.

Step 5 Krishna Kaali

Krishna Kali is one such deity with whom devotees have a very loving and intimate bond, in spite of her fearful appearance. She is known for destroying ignorance.

Step 6 Shakti Bairavi

Shakti Bhairavi is the ugra swaroopini of Shakti and she is known more to the devotees as the famous Yakshi – who is seated in the court of Lord Sastha

Step 7 Kaarthaveeryarjuna

Kaartha Veeryaarjuna is an Amsha of Sudharshana Chakra. He got Satha Upasana from his Guru Datta and obtained many great powers and rose to a level of God

Step 8 Krishnaabhan

Krishnabhan is more popularly known as Karuppan. He is the cheif of all the Bhootaganas of Sastha's Bhootha sena. He is seen in almost every Sastha temple in Tamilnadu and few age old temples of Kerala.

Step 9 Hidimba

Hidimba is one of the chief warrior but also the preceptor born in the clan of Asuras. He is seated as the guardian deity of the ninth step.

Step 10 Vethala

Vethala is considered to be the head of Ghost and Goblins and in an amsha of Bhairava. Sastha is Bhoothanatha who controls these Ghosts and hence Vethala is one among his parivara.

Step 11 Naagaraja

Nagaraja is the king of the Serpants. In general Anantha is considered to be the King of the Naga Kingdom and he is stationed at the eleventh step here to destroy the Sarpa doshas of the devotees

Step 12 Renuka

Renuka is the Mother of Parasurama who was killed and later resurrected by Parasurama. After the death of Jamadagni, Revana Siddha gave her Sasthru Deeksha at Padavedu and she is stationed here.

Step 13 Swapna Varahi

Swapna Varahi is a form of Vartali who gets pleased with the devotees and comes and guides the devotees through dreams.

Step 14 Pratyangira

Pratyangira is Ugra Swaroopini who is very much forceful in action and her primary duty is to protect the upasakas of Para Devata

Step 15 Bhooma Devi

Bhoomadevi is the consort of the Varaha Moorthi. She is Dharma Swaroopini and represents Kshama- forgiveness. Holding a paddy sheaf in her hand, She also indicates prosperity

Step 16 Aghora

The following there are Astra Devatas. Ever ready for prayoga against the evil. Agora is one of the Astra of Shiva which he created to destroy the Tripurasuras. It can grants worldly good and salvation to the soul.

Step 17 Pashupatha

Pashupata is Shiva's personal asta and a most forceful one. It can even be discharged by eyes, words or mind. Its capable of destroying anything and can even stop creation.

Step 18 Mrutyunjaya

Mrutyunjaya is yet another Astra which gives eternal state to the aspirant. This is not just to live a healthy life and get rid of ailments. This conquers mrutyu – the permanent state of existence; Thats knowing the self; being self; Thats Thathwamasi.